This page contains some background (conceptual) information about publishing, a refactored implementation of activation. As the name suggests, publishing handles how content gets published from an author instance to a public instance. Publishing is installed by the Publishing module and extended by the Publishing Transactional module (in DX Core).
PublishingCommand collects the content that needs to be
(un)published. This content is then sent to an implementation of
Sender, a component responsible for content packaging.
Package consists of properties and files that will be sent to the
Packages are only used with a publication and are
created by the
Packager which adds the properties and
XML exports of
the content to a
PublicationFilter receives a sender’s request. The request is then
sent to the
Dispatcher which decides what to do with the request
depending on the request headers. The
Dispatcher extracts the data
from the request and creates a
ReceiveOperation responsible for
creating/updating/deleting the content.
Each publishing request locks the node (if it exists) where content is to be published and its parent node. In case two users publish to the same (sub)tree, the locking mechanism will wait with a predefined amount of time and will try to obtain a lock for the operation. If the operation receives the lock, it can proceed with content (un)publishing. If not, publishing is considered unsuccessful and the respective status code is returned to the sender.
Magnolia supports two methods of publishing content:
Non-recursive, which publishes only the selected node and its properties.
Recursive, which publishes the selected node, its properties and its children.
Transactional publishing provides a way to publish content-managed transactions. Content will be:
commitedif all receivers respond with success status.
rollbackedif at least one of the receivers respond with error status.
The transactional publishing receiver uses
mgnlSystem workspace to
store the backups of the published content. If content is to be
commited, the backup is removed. If content is to be rollbacked, the
backup is restored to the workspace it belongs to.